Here we go again, another $5 million of your money gone? Last tent city cost City taxpayers $1.6 million, and the province taxpayers paid $3 million for clean-up – and the City is letting the next one form right now near South Park School – CONTACT City Hall via links here

EDIT:  8:03am – we now have several reports indicating the camp was forced out this morning.

As we reported here Sunday and yesterday, the City is turning a blind eye to a brand new tent city forming in a prominent position in Beacon Hill Park.

The tent city was set up last week, and as of late yesterday afternoon, police or City officials had taken no action.  VibrantVictoria reported the latest photos yesterday.

In April of this year, it was reported that the province spent $3 million to clean up and remediate the former tent city site on the courthouse lawn.  That included over $729,000 in legal fees just to force the campers off the lawn.

In June of last year, it was reported that the cost to the City alone for homelessness and the tent city site was costing taxpayers $92,700 per month, part of an overall cost of $1.6 million.  That was before tent city was ended.

If we consider that the former tent city had at its peak, 150 occupants, it means taxpayers paid the equivalent of over $33,000 per tenter, to “solve” the problem.  Today’s situation appears to show no problem was solved.  With the new tenters squarely on City land this time, the costs will likely all fall on City of Victoria taxpayers’ shoulders.

Camping in City parks is not permitted between 7am and 7pm.  Yet one photo HERE shows Victoria Police walking by the new tent city yesterday, and taking no action.

To contact City Hall with your questions, comments, concerns or suggestions, follow these links:

Contact Mayor & Council

Mayor and Council welcome your feedback.


If you would like to email the Mayor and all City Council please email 
mayorandcouncil@victoria.ca.

To email the Mayor and all City Council via a contact form click here.

Mayor Lisa Helps
250.361.0200
mayor@victoria.ca

Council

Councillor Marianne Alto
250.361.0216
malto@victoria.ca

Councillor Chris Coleman
250.361.0223
ccoleman@victoria.ca

Councillor Ben Isitt
250.882.9302
bisitt@victoria.ca

Councillor Jeremy Loveday
250.361.0218
jloveday@victoria.ca

Councillor Margaret Lucas
250.361.0217
mlucas@victoria.ca

Councillor Pamela Madoff
250.361.0221
pmadoff@victoria.ca

Councillor Charlayne Thornton-Joe
250.361.0219
cthornton-joe@victoria.ca

Councillor Geoff Young
250.361.0220
gyoung@victoria.ca